The famous rapper DMX was arrested early Wednesday morning for driving without a license.
The 42-year-old artist, whose real name is Earl Simmons, was pulled over at about 1 AM on Wednesday, February 13th, after a police officer recognized the rapper coming out of a Li’l Cricket convenience store on Gap Creek Road. Simmons had been charged several times before of driving without a license, in both Greer and Duncan, SC. After a quick search through DMV records, the officer followed him for a short distance and then pulled him over.
He discovered that Simmons only had a state identification card, and was once again driving without a license in South Carolina.
The car was turned over to Simmons’s passenger, who did have a license.
Simmons was released from Spartanburg County jail after paying a fine. It is currently unclear if he has a lawyer.
Simmons’s most notorious brush with vehicle law was in a Phoenix suburb in 2011, after he was pulled over for speeding. The artist was driving at 102 mph. He also recently finished a stint in jail after his probation was revoked because he failed to submit to drug testing, as well as a previous charge of driving without a license.
Driving Without a License in South Carolina
According to South Carolina law, the first charge of driving without a license is a misdemeanor. You can potentially go to prison for 30 days, or be charged a fine of between $50 and $100. If you can provide proof, before your court date, of being a licensed driver at the time of the charge, you could have the charge dismissed.
For the second offense, you might face a fine of $500, or imprisoned for 45 days, or both.
The third charge of driving without a license, however, is the most serious. You could go to prison for between 45 days and 6 months. You could also face a steep fine.
When making your decision about how to best handle your traffic ticket, you need to make sure that you understand the consequences of your conviction. A plea of guilty, nolo contendere, which means that you are not admitting guilt but that you do not contest the charge, or simply forfeiting your bond are all considered a conviction in South Carolina.
In SC, if you accumulate a total of 12 points your license may be suspended. Your license may also be suspended if you fail to pay your traffic ticket within 12 months of the day it is issued.
Defense of Criminal Charges, Including Driving Without a License, in South Carolina
Legislation regarding automobiles is complex. If you have received a criminal charge, even a misdemeanor like driving without a license, your driving and criminal record will be effected. Do not let a criminal charge like driving without a license ruin your reputation, job prospects, or educational opportunities. The attorneys at the Strom Law Firm have years of experience with South Carolina criminal defense. Contact us today for a free, confidential consultation to discuss the facts of your case. 803.252.4800.